Eisner Awards 2018: The Complete List of Winners

Updated On 24 Jul, 2018 Published On

The Eisner Awards 2018 was held on Friday night at San Diego Comic-Con, and Sana Takeda and Marjorie Liu’s Monstress and Emil FerrisMy Favorite Thing is Monsters led with the most wins.

Monstress took best continuing series, best cover artist, best publication for teens, best painter/multimedia artist and best writer.

My Favorite Thing is Monsters, meanwhile, took best writer/artist, best graphic album and best coloring.

Another big winner was Katie O’Neill’s The Tea Dragon Society; it took best webcomic and best publication for kids.

Here's the complete list of winners of 2018 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards, check it out.

Best Short Story Award

”A Life in Comics: The Graphic Adventures of Karen Green,” by Nick Sousanis, in Columbia Magazine (Summer 2017)


Best Continuing Series

Monstress, by Marjorie Liu and Sana Takeda (Image)


Best Single Issue/One-Shot

Hellboy: Krampusnacht, by Mike Mignola and Adam Hughes (Dark Horse)


Best Limited Series

Black Panther: World of Wakanda, by Roxane Gay, Ta-Nehisi Coates, and Alitha E. Martinez (Marvel)


Best New Series

Black Bolt, by Saladin Ahmed and Christian Ward (Marvel)


Best Publication for Early Readers (up to age 8)

Good Night, Planet, by Liniers (Toon Books)


Best Publication for Kids (ages 9–12)

The Tea Dragon Society, by Katie O’Neill (Oni)

Best Publication for Teens (ages 13-17)

Monstress, by Marjorie Liu and Sana Takeda (Image)


Best Humor Publication

Baking with Kafka, by Tom Gauld (Drawn & Quarterly)


Best Reality-Based Work

Spinning, by Tillie Walden (First Second)


Best Anthology

Elements: Fire, A Comic Anthology by Creators of Color, edited by Taneka Stotts (Beyond Press)


Best Graphic Album—New

My Favorite Thing Is Monsters, by Emil Ferris (Fantagraphics)


Best Graphic Album-Reprint

Boundless, by Jillian Tamaki (Drawn & Quarterly)


Best U.S. Edition of International Material

Run for It: Stories of Slaves Who Fought for the Freedom, by Marcelo D’Salete, translated by Andrea Rosenberg (Fantagraphics)


Best Adaptation from Another Medium

Kindred, by Octavia Butler, adapted by Damian Duffy and John Jennings (Abrams ComicArts)


Best Archival Collection/Project—Strips

Celebrating Snoopy, by Charles M. Schulz, edited by Alexis E. Fajardo and Dorothy O’Brien (Andrews McMeel)


Best U.S. Edition of International Material—Asia

My Brother’s Husband, vol. 1, by Gengoroh Tagame, translated by Anne Ishii (Pantheon)


Best Archival Collection/Project—Comic Books

Akira 35th Anniversary Edition, by Katsuhiro Otomo, edited by Haruko Hashimoto, Ajani Oloye, and Lauren Scanlan (Kodansha)


Best Writer

Tom King, Batman, Batman Annual #2, Batman/Elmer Fudd Special #1, Mister Miracle (DC)


Best Writer/Artist

Emil Ferris, My Favorite Thing Is Monsters (Fantagraphics)


Best Cover Artist

Sana Takeda, Monstress (Image)


Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team

Mitch Gerads, Mister Miracle (DC)


Best Painter/Multimedia Artist (interior art)

Sana Takeda, Monstress (Image)


Best Coloring

Emil Ferris, My Favorite Thing Is Monsters (Fantagraphics)


Best Lettering

Stan Sakai, Usagi Yojimbo, Groo: Slay of the Gods (Dark Horse)


Best Comics-Related Book

How to Read Nancy: The Elements of Comics in Three Easy Panels, by Paul Karasik and Mark Newgarden (Fantagraphics)


Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism

The Comics Journal, edited by Dan Nadel, Timothy Hodler, and Tucker Stone, (Fantagraphics)


Best Publication Design

Akira 35th Anniversary Edition, designed by Phil Balsman, Akira Saito (Veia), NORMA Editorial, and MASH•ROOM (Kodansha)


Best Academic/Scholarly Work

Latinx Superheroes in Mainstream Comics, by Frederick Luis Aldama (University of Arizona Press)


Best Webcomic

The Tea Dragon Society, by Katie O’Neill, (Oni Press)


Best Digital Comic

Harvey Kurtzman’s Marley’s Ghost, by Harvey Kurtzman, Josh O’Neill, Shannon Wheeler, and Gideon Kendall (comiXology Originals/Kitchen, Lind & Associates)


Hall of Fame:

  • Judges’ Choices: Carol Kalish, Jackie Ormes


  • Voters’ Choices: Charles Addams, Karen Berger, Dave Gibbons, Rumiko Takahashi


  • Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award: Frederick Joseph; Comics4Kids


  • Bill Finger Excellence in Comic Book Writing Award: Joe Murchison Kelly; Dorothy Woolfolk


  • Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award: Hamish Steele (writer/artist, Pantheon), Pablo Tunica (artist, TMNT Universe)

For more updates, stay tuned to Frostsnow.